The 2021

Ingyte Awards

The IGNYTE Awards

In the tradition of FIYAH, when we see a need going unfulfilled, we correct it. To that effect, we are thrilled to announce the creation of the Ignyte Awards series as part of the inaugural FIYAHCON event. The Awards seek to celebrate the vibrancy and diversity of the current and future landscapes of science fiction, fantasy, and horror by recognizing incredible feats in storytelling and outstanding efforts toward inclusivity of the genre.

Awards will be given in the following categories:

Best Novel – Adult
Best Novel – YA
Best in MG
Best Novella
Best Novelette
Best Short Story
Speculative Poetry
Critics Award
Best Fiction Podcast
Best Artist
Best Comics Team
Best Anthology/Collected Works
Best in Creative Nonfiction

The Ember Award for Unsung Contributions to Genre

Community Award for Outstanding Efforts in Service of Inclusion and Equitable Practice in Genre

2022 Public voting now open thru June 10, 2022.

Winners will be announced in ceremony on Saturday, September 17th.

How Voting Works


Ignyte Awards juries are comprised of 20 individuals; a mix of FIYAHCON staff and winners from previous years. Each juror is permitted to nominate three works per category, ranked in order of preference. Works are sourced organically from the juror’s own awareness and reading history, as well as a list of eligible works created and maintained throughout the year by the award administrators. We do not accept submissions. Works are awarded 3 points per appearance in 1st place ranking, 2 points per second place appearance, and 1 point per third place appearance. The five works in each category with the most points generates the award shortlist. Winners from the previous year are ineligible to be nominated in their winning category.


The Ignyte Awards are a free, public ballot. We permit voters to submit one ballot of one finalist per category. We verify the existence of the email address attached to a ballot and remove votes from false or sockpuppet accounts as well as duplicate votes from the same verified email. In order to prevent predatory voting practices, we do not permit write-in nominations. Votes are tallied simply: 1 vote = 1 point. Most points wins.


Set Layout